Opening Discovery Results | UVexplorer Manual

PRTG Manual: Opening Discovery Results

The Open Discovery Result form lets you perform the following operations:

▪Open a saved discovery result

▪Merge a saved discovery result with the current discovery result

▪Delete a saved discovery result

The form displays a list of all discovery results that are currently saved in the UVexplorer database. Before performing any of the operations listed above, you must first select one of the discovery results from the list.

The following properties are displayed for each discovery result:

Discovery Result Name

This is the name assigned to the discovery result when it was saved.

Type

This is the discovery result’s type, which describes the origin of the result. The possible values for this property are:

▪Manual – The result was created by a manual (i.e., non-scheduled) discovery.

▪Scheduled (Raw) – The result stores the raw result of a scheduled discovery execution. It stores a snapshot of what the network looked like during one particular execution of the scheduled discovery. The Discovery Result Name property indicates which scheduled discovery created the result.

▪Scheduled (Rollup) – The result stores the ‘rollup’ for a scheduled discovery. Unlike raw discovery results, of which there is one per execution of the scheduled discovery, there is only one rollup result for each scheduled discovery. The rollup discovery result contains the union of all devices that have been recently seen on the network by the scheduled discovery. The Discovery Result Name property indicates which scheduled discovery the ‘rollup’ result belongs to.

Date Modified

The date and time at which the most recent changes were made to the discovery result.

Date Created

The date and time at which the discovery result was originally created.

Opening Discovery Results

You will frequently want to open a saved discovery result from the database in order to view or modify it. This can be done in the Open Discovery Result form by selecting the desired discovery result in the displayed list, and clicking the Open button. (Alternatively, you can just double-click on the desired discovery result.) This will cause the selected discovery result to be loaded from the database. The selected discovery result will replace whatever discovery result is already open in the program. If the current discovery result contains any unsaved changes, you will be prompted to save the changes before the new discovery result is loaded.

Merging Discovery Results

It is sometimes useful to merge separate discovery results into a single combined discovery result. To make this possible, at any time you can merge a saved discovery result with the currently-open discovery result. This can be done in the Open Discovery Result form by selecting the desired discovery result in the displayed list, and clicking the Merge button. This will cause all devices and network links from the selected discovery result to be merged (or combined) with the devices and network links in the current discovery result. You may then save the combined discovery result to the database, if you wish.

Deleting Discovery Results

To delete a saved discovery result, select the result to be deleted in the displayed list, and click the Delete button. This will remove the selected result from the database.